The City of Falls Church Police Department was formed in 1948. It has 32 sworn law enforcement officers and is divided into 5 functional components: Animal Control, Investigations, Parking Enforcement, Traffic Enforcement, and Uniform Patrol. The Police Department also provides a School Resource Officer at Mary Ellen Henderson Middle School and George Mason High School. Read about our different divisions below.
Police Officer
  1. Animal Control

    Review information about our Animal Control Department.

  2. Communications & Dispatch

    This division is typically the first contact the public has with the department when requesting police services.

  3. Community Services Unit

    Learn about our community services unit.

  4. Criminal Investigations

    The criminal investigations unit investigates all major crimes in the City of Falls Church.

  5. Emergency Management

    Explore information about emergency management.

  6. Fire Marshal

    The Fire Marshal is a sworn law enforcement division of the police department and is responsible for enforcing the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code.

  1. Hacker Unit

    The Falls Church Police Department works with area taxi drivers, also known as "hackers," to ensure they meet the requirements for obtaining hack permit.

  2. Parking Enforcement

    Read about the parking enforcement.

  3. Records

    Records personnel assist residents seeking copies of accident reports, criminal history requests, and information on all reports taken by officers.

  4. School Resources

    The School Resource Officer is assigned to the city's middle and high schools to act as a resource for students, parents, and staff.

  5. Traffic Calming & Enforcement

    The Traffic Enforcement Officer and Uniform Patrol officers investigate accidents and handle traffic direction, control, and enforcement.