Expanded Vital Records Services at Fairfax County Health Department
Certified copies of Virginia birth, death, marriage and divorce records are now available for purchase from the Fairfax County Health Department at four district office locations – in Fairfax, Herndon-Reston, Annandale and Mount Vernon.
Previously, the Health Department had two office locations that could provide residents and funeral home directors copies of death certificates and verification of death letters for the family of loved ones who died. By expanding its Vital Records services, the Health Department will now offer records for these life events occurring in the Commonwealth of Virginia:
Births: June 1912 to present
Marriages: 1936 to present
Divorces: 1918 to present
Deaths: June 1912 to present.
A client may request a certificate for oneself or next of kin/immediate family, which includes mother, father, current spouse, child, brother, or sister, and others under certain circumstances, with valid ID. Each copy is $12 and payable by cash, check or credit card.
Virginia birth and death records from 1912 to the present, divorce records since 1918 and marriage records since 1936 are now available in an index form. Click here to access indexed information on open records. In Virginia, death, marriage and divorce data become “public” information 25 years after the event; birth data are “public” after 100 years.
Vital Records are available to immediate family members only- mother, father, husband, wife, child, brother, sister and grandparents with valid ID. Birth records can be issued to the legal guardian with proof of custody papers. Aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, etc. cannot obtain a Vital Record.
Application for a Vital Record with the Virginia Department of Health