What to Read Next

  1. Temporary Location Closing July 10 to Begin Library Move

    The library renovation and expansion project is coming to an end and the outside of the new library building is looking great! There’s still work that needs to be done on the inside including moving our entire collection into its new home and setting up public and staff spaces. Our temporary location (at 601 S. Oak St.) will close permanently and we will suspend curbside pickup service starting July 10 at 5 pm so we can begin the process of moving back into our library building at 120 N. Virginia Ave, which will re-open on Monday, August 16, at 10 am. Learn more...

Find your Next Read

NextRead Newsletters

Sign up here and receive reading recommendations in your favorite genres and topics delivered directly to your inbox. Most are sent monthly, though some come out every other month. These newsletters are a great way to keep up with new and influential books!

Personalized NextRead Suggestion

Not sure what to read next? Got a picky reader at home? We have the answer! Submit one of the forms below for personalized book suggestions! We’ll use the information provided to match you with a book to suit your tastes, mood, or whim!

We try to respond to each request within 2-3 days. If you do not hear from us after 3 days, we encourage you to check in by calling us at 703-248-5030 (TTY 711).

Novelist Plus

Do you want to forge your own path to your next great read? Use Novelist Plus to discover your next favorite author, series, or title! Browse thousands of fiction and nonfiction suggestions by genre, subject, or reading level. Includes "read-a-likes" recommending where you can see other authors similar to ones you already like! Use your Library Card number (on the back of your card) to log in.

Novelist Plus K-8 Plus

All of the amazing features of Novelist plus, but for kids! NoveList K-8 Plus is a comprehensive reading resource for children’s fiction and nonfiction. With a fun and intuitive interface, and extensive proprietary content, NoveList K-8 Plus will help you integrate reading across the curriculum and support your young readers.